Check Out Our Sports Photo Galleries Contact Us
9 receive Judicial Leadership awards
by Tribune Staff
May 09, 2012 | 584 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print

LAS VEGAS — Nineteen Nevada judges received awards for educational achievements during ceremonies Thursday at the 2012 Judicial Leadership Summit in Las Vegas.

Continuing education programs are provided to judges through the Administrative Office of the Courts to ensure a competent and professional judiciary.

“It is imperative that Nevada’s judges receive the best judicial education possible so that our citizens can be confident in the decisions handed down by the judges,” Chief Justice Nancy Saitta said. “These awards demonstrate the commitment of our judges to stay abreast of legal developments.”

One judge was honored for having completed 1,000 hours of judicial education during his career. Senior Justice of the Peace Fidel Salcedo, who presided in Reno Township before his retirement, received an Outstanding Education Award.

Eight judges, including four Nevada Supreme Court justices, received Distinguished Judicial Education Awards for achieving 640 hours of education. The justices are Michael Cherry, Michael Douglas, Mark Gibbons and James Hardesty. District judges receiving the award were Eighth Judicial District Judge Mark Denton, Sixth Judicial District Judge Richard Wagner and Second Judicial District Judge Chuck Weller. Also receiving the award was Esmeralda Township Justice of the Peace Juanita Colvin.

Five judges were given Advanced Judicial Education Awards for amassing 440 hours of education credits. They are Supreme Court Chief Justice Nancy Saitta, Second Judicial District Judge Jerome Polaha, Eighth Judicial District Judges Art Ritchie and Douglas E. Smith and Union Township (Winnemucca) Justice of the Peace Gene Wambolt.

Judicial Education Awards for 240 hours of judicial education went to five judges: Eighth Judicial District Judges David Barker, Bryce Duckworth and Jessie Walsh; First Judicial District Judge James Wilson; and Bunkerville Township Justice of the Peace Darryll Dodenbier.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Featured Businesses