A new law banning talking on a hand-held cell phone or operating an electronic device while driving takes effect today. Hands-free calling is still allowed.
For three months, offending drivers will be given warnings. But come Jan. 1, violators will be slapped with fines — $50 for a first offense, $100 for a second and $250 for a third or subsequent violation.
“This new law is imperative for every Nevadan and those who choose to visit our great state,” said Washoe County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Armando Avina. “Distracted driving leads to traffic accidents which result is serious bodily harm and/or death. This law is about making Nevada’s roads safer. A driver’s surroundings are constantly changing, whether someone is stopped or in motion. A driver’s sole focus has to be on traffic safety.”
Nevada becomes one of nine states and the District of Columbia to prohibit all drivers from using a hand-held cell phone, and one of 34 states to ban text messaging for all drivers.