Last year in northern Nevada over the three-day Nevada Day weekend, authorities arrested 25 motorists for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). Out of the 25 arests, 17 of those DUI arrests were made in the Reno-Sparks area and eight were in the Carson City area. DUI is a preventable crime and easy to avoid by simply choosing to not operate a motor vehicle once alcohol has been consumed. Other options in avoiding such an arrest are to designate a safe and sober driver and not the person who has consumed the least amount of alcohol, utilize public transportation or stay home or at a hotel.
In Washoe County courts, any motorist arrested and convicted for a first-time DUI in the Justice Courts can expect the following fines and penalties:
• $750 fine
• Two or more days in jail or community service
• Vehicle impounded
• Driver’s license revoked for 90 days
• Must attend a victim impact panel
• Must file a SR-22 form with DMV, which equates to very expensive automobile insurance for three years.
• Legal fees
With another safety reminder, always wear a seat belt and be certain that everyone riding in your vehicle is properly restrained.
Tonight, motorists should expect to see an unusually large amount of pedestrians taking part in the trick or treating and other festive activities. Pedestrians should be sure to wear reflective clothing and carry a flashlight if they will be walking with their child and those with costumes should utilize some sort of reflective material as well. To minimize an accident, pay close attention to all vehicular traffic and utilize cross walks when crossing streets.