Police: Two men caught in act of robbery, sexual assault
RENO — Police caught two men Sunday in the act of robbing an apartment and sexually assaulting a woman. Reno resident Dominique Ceasar Jr., 28, and Andre Lamar Briscoe, 23, a resident of Sacramento, Calif., have been charged with home invasion, burglary, robbery, kidnapping, battery with the intent to commit sexual assault and battery-strangulation. The two men were found by Reno police officers responding to a call about a home invasion in th...
Possible string of robberies hits local Dad’s Quick Mart
SPARKS — Police are looking for a man who robbed the Dad’s Quick Mart on Sparks Boulevard and are investigating whether it might be part of a string of robberies. At about 1:45 a.m. Monday, a white male believed to be between 20 and 25 years old robbed the Dad’s Quick Mart at 5212 Sparks Blvd. at gunpoint. The suspect left on foot prior to police arrival. At the time of the robbery, the suspect was wearing a black hoodie sweat shirt with blu...
Year in Review: Top Stories of 2011
By Nathan Orme, editor Local story of the year — Street Vibrations shooting “It’s Happening Here” took an unfortunate twist for the city of Sparks this year. The “it” in the tagline for the efforts to increase the special events dates on Sparks’ calendar now can include biker club violence, after the Sept. 23 fatal shooting that occurred outside Trader Dick’s restaurant inside John Ascuaga’s Nugget. Members of the Hells Angels and Vagos motorc...
For Auld Lang Syne
On this final day of 2011, the editorial staff of the Sparks Tribune shares its picks for the winners and losers of the year.
Texting while driving law brings fines Jan. 1
CARSON CITY (AP) — Nevadans caught driving while texting or talking on a handheld device will feel it in their wallets come Jan. 1 as a new law shifts from warnings to fines. The state’s cellphone ban took effect Oct. 1, but until now authorities haven’t issued tickets. Nevadans were given a three-month grace period to get used to the idea. That changes Sunday, when the fine for a first offense will be $50. A second offense will cost $100, and...